TIG News

Qualitative Methods TIG Elections!

Dear AEA Qualitative Methods TIG members,

It is time for the Qualitative Methods TIG to elect two new leaders to serve alongside the two continuing members of the leadership team.  We are holding elections for one Co-chair and one Program Co-chair prior to the conference this November.  Janet Usinger is finishing a 3 year term as a Co-chair, and Hannah Betesh is finishing a 3 year terms as a Program Co-chair.  Each position will be elected to a three-year term, starting in January 2020.  We have had such positive responses to the elections in previous years, we are hoping that those who submitted their names will resubmit and others will consider this opportunity as well!

Co-chairs are responsible for the overall direction of the TIG.  They serve as the main contacts for members who have questions about the TIG.  They also determine the content of our annual business meeting held during each conference and thus regular conference attendance is required.  As part of determining the overall direction of the TIG, the elected Co-chair will also assist with the Qualitative Methods TIG’s website with user-friendly training and support from AEA staff.  The elected Co-chair will ensure that the TIG’s basic website content is up-to-date and easily accessible to TIG members.

Program Co-chairs are responsible for developing the TIG’s annual conference program in collaboration with the other TIG leaders.  They manage the annual proposal review process, which includes recruiting reviewers, disseminating proposals, gathering reviews, and leading the creation of the TIG’s strand of the conference program. Participation in recent and upcoming AEA conferences is required to inform this leadership role.

If you or someone you know is interested in running for either Co-chair or Program Co-chair, please submit the name of the position being sought and a brief bio (125 words maximum) to Janet Usinger (usingerj@unr.edu) by Friday, September 27.  You can either self-nominate or nominate someone you think would be great for either role.  However, if you nominate someone else, please check with him or her first to ensure a willingness to run; please copy the person on your nomination email.

The election window will be open from September 30 to October 18.  You will receive a separate email with a link to the ballot.  We will announce the winners on or around October 24.

Thank you for considering how you or a colleague can contribute to the Qualitative Methods TIG and the American Evaluation Association through these important leadership roles. We have thoroughly enjoyed our time as TIG leaders and highly recommend the opportunity. Please feel free to contact Janet Usinger (usingerj@unr.edu), Rachael Lawrence (barefootrach@gmail.com), Hannah Betesh, or Catherine Darrow (cdarrow@edc.org) if you would like further information.

Good luck, everyone!


Janet Usinger and Rachael Lawrence – Qualitative Methods TIG Co-Chairs
Hannah Betesh and Catherine (Cat) Darrow – Qualitative Methods TIG Program Co-Chairs